Why do you do it?

Recently it was asked to me why I do ministry my job. Honestly I gave a very basic answer why I appreciate the job I have at the church. Avoiding the overall question of why I am in ministry. You see I work part time for my church in accounts payables The reason I do love it is 1. The extra income 2. I personally just love meeting a need. Our accountant there is incredible. The amount of things he takes care of just facinates me. But he is looking to work towards retirement and obviously needs to train some people to do what he does because he has never had an assistant. Voila….insert me who needed a break from my kids two days a week. 2yrs later, it’s the privilege I have to learn from a great financial mind and also from my desk (if you are unfamiliar with accounts payables) I see every departments spending. I get a first hand look at projects, maintenance, vision and a whole lot of work and heart. I get to know teachers I may never work with as I fill out PO’S and I pray for people and their families as their name comes across my desk.
But that, pushing paper and paying bills…that’s my job. Praying for departments and security guys and teachers and events and staff names when they come across my desk…that’s a part of ministry.

You see to me ministry is not holding a job at the church to me. Ministry is any form of being a part of people’s lives.

I love cooking for people. Not because I am so good at it but because I know how it takes the weight off a mom of not wondering what to make for dinner once it’s prepared. I love the reassuring feeling it brings to the heart that someone thought of me and someone loves me. Or the sweet way God loves us when it’s prepared for us and we just thought…money is tight, the fridg is empty…what will I do? So many reasons I love it. And with every meal I make, I pray that it taste good (it’s a possibility that while putting the dash of salt I was correcting the littles and it became a heaping spoon), that the family is refreshed by the meal, that they feel God’s love thru us from the meal that the financial burden is lifted for a night as I prepare the meal or that the pastors feel my love and support when doing it for their family on a Sunday. IT’S MINISTRY!!!

I am a babysitter referee teacher nanny housecleaner SAHM the other days of the week with my four beautiful busy children. I still wake up every night at least once with one. Sometimes I am kicked out of my bed to the couch because three decided to crawl in bed with us and I dare not take the upstairs bed to get away and hide because the fourth could wake up and need me. Now, my husband is extremely helpful in this area every night but when there are four of them and their ages are 5yrs, 4yrs, (almost) 3yrs, and a 1yr old…it takes two parents. Or a super crazy mom. Anyhow, then the days I am home we are playing, fighting learning how to love with our words and hands, playing dress up, and meeting many demands. All of our children are talkers. From the moment they wake up…mommy can I have this that and everything all before you pleasurably enjoy gulp down a cup of coffee. I have many moments as a mom, I fail miserably and in those times God teaches my heart and spirit a good lesson. I ask my children for forgiveness and God for grace. It’s a never ending process. I stay up late because my husband is a night owl and it’s my only time to do nothing in my day and enjoy sitting down or doing everything I didn’t get done during the day. I can’t begin to tell you how much God has done in me since becoming a mom let alone how much He has done thru me. IT’S MINISTRY!!!

Then there is my amazingly selfless, big hearted, handsome husband who is a staff pastor at our church. He is not the pastor but he does countless hours of counseling at the office or by phone, premarital couselling, marriages, handy helping what is needed, small group and new member connect ministry and then comes home and dives right in. He is the one at the end of my day I may get to hug tightly (providing one of the littles hasn’t jumped in) and we crash knowing in about 4-5 short hours we do it again. IT’S MINISTRY!!!

Along with all these things that seem so meniscule to some, I clean my house, grocery shop and talk and text to so many people around me…IT’S MINISTRY! Some may be thingking at this point…okay Callie, how is cleaning your house and grocery shopping and texting ministry? For me, I clean my house so that we have a peaceful and calm spirit in our home. Where there is order there is peace. That brings peace to me which typically flows down. When I grocery shop, I see a haggard tired mom with toddlers throwing fits and the mom is taking deep breaths…I or my children start playing with her kids to calm them down which is reactive to her. Or a guy who looks lost on the cereal aisle looking for peanut butter šŸ˜‰ and I assist him with a smile. A store clerk who I tell they are awesome, doing a great job and Thank you. Or when I text people because God randomly puts them on my heart and mind so I begin to pray for them immediately and just send a “hey, I love you and thinking about you” text. It’s all ministry. I do not deem a single one more important though obviously my first priority is my husband and kiddos. When Jesus has loved you so well, you in turn love people so well. It’s who I am and what I have been called to do everyday of my life. And for me, if I don’t add another thing to my days or calendar…it’s so much more than enough what I do already. Am I perfect at it all or do I get it right 100% of the time….not even a bit, but I never give up or stop and that makes me great!

Because I genuinely love people and wanna help anyway possible that I can in whatever season I am in…that is why I do it.

Leave a Reply

